NET-010 Durgerdam Hoek van ’t IJ (Durgerdam corner of estuary ‘t IJ)
Location Lighthouse Island (Vuurtoreneiland)
Position Lat (dms) 52°22’18” N
Position Long (dms) 5°00’50” E
Year built 1893
Material Cast iron
Height construction (m) 19,5 m
Height light (m) 18 m
Range light (mi) -
Location (also locally known as IJdoorn) has a stone lighthouse since 1702, that was replaced in 1893 by the current iron cast skeleton structure. Decommissioned in 2003 and reactivated in 2005. Light range today is unclear, but was 11-14 nm. National monument since 1981 (nr.6788).
A little further to the south at the tip of the Durgerdammer dike, there was a secondary light for a short while (Blauwe Hoofd 1949-). Only the square 3,5m brick statue of that light is left.
Around 1900 some nautical maps show two more lights in the neighbourhood. One is on the breakwater dam right in front of the lighthouse. This one still exists. The other is on top of fort-island Pampus.
Last updated: August 2020