Zuyder Sea lighthouse tour

for amateur radio operators

NET-202 Wieringen front low

Town Wieringen De Haukes
Location De Haukes harbour
Position Lat (dms) 52°53’13” N
Position Long (dms) 5°55’57” E
QTH-locator JO22LV
Year built 1832
Material Wood
Height construction (m)  -
Height light (m) -
Range light (mi) -
Characterisic Deactivated 1930

No physical evidence of the particular light on the location (locally also known as Westerland or Westeinde). The wooden 1832 structure was replaced by an iron cast in 1884, disassembled in 1930. 

The front low light worked in combination with a rear high light some 400 m land inward. The wooden 1832 structure of the rear high light was replaced by an iron cast in 1885, that in turn was relocated in 1930 to Den Oever as NET-006

There was a second front light, more to the west, that worked in combination with the very same rear high. It becomes even more complicated. This second light worked in combination with another light in the south. There were in total four lights and tree light lines. To be complete, we mention the fifth sector light at the utmost west tip of the island.

The harbour of De Haukes is still there, including modern harbour-lights. The fishing fleet of Wieringen (Wieringerwaard) can be recognized by WR (WRW) as vessel registration.

Last updated: August 2020

Front low at water front in harbour

Rear high light, later be transported to Den Oever locks

Front low light at waterfront harbour De Haukes